FAFEN expands its network


KARACHI: The newly elected president of the Network for Free and Fair Elections (FAFEN) and members of the Executive Council were sworn in at a ceremony held during the National Council meeting to mark the completion of FAFEN’s transition from ” a network of civil society organizations (CSOs) to a network of 20 independent regional networks across Pakistan with a cumulative membership of over 500 CSOs at the sub-district (Tehsil) level.

Outgoing FAFEN President Hameedullah Kakar was sworn in to newly elected FAFEN President Mossarat Qadeem, who in turn took the oath to FAFEN Executive Council members including Sajid Ali and Zahid Iqbal from Punjab, Mukhtar Javed from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Nasrullah and, Younas Bandhani and Jan Odhano from Sindh and Anbreen Ajaib.

The outgoing President congratulated the new President and the members of the Executive Board. Mossarat Qadeem recognized the role of the outgoing president and pledged to lead FAFEN to further success while respecting its guiding principles and rules. During the ceremony, all members of the National Council decided to continue their efforts to strengthen democratic responsibilities.

The National Council includes six members from Punjab, six from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, five from Sindh and two from Balochistan from major civil society organizations including BEDARI, Center for Peace and Development (CPD), Farmers Development Organization (FDO), Youth Organization (YO), Sustainable Social Development Organization (SSDO), Samaj Development Foundation (SDF), Community Development Foundation (CDF), Baanh Baeli (BB), United Rural Development Organization (URDO), Takhleeq Foundation (TF), PAIMAN Alumni Trust, Program de développement communautaire (CDP), Sangat Development Foundation (Sangat), Sungi Development Foundation (Sungi), Sudhaar Society (Sudhaar), Integrated Regional Support Program (IRSP), Community Awareness Raising Advocacy Venture Around Needs (CARAVAN) , Welfare Association Jared (WAJ) and Goth Seengar Foundation (GSF).


Comments are closed.