The EC will ask for a ban on gatherings and public gatherings


Union Minister Pralhad Joshi and BJP Uttarakhand leader Arun Singh announce the first list of candidates for the upcoming polls at the party headquarters in New Delhi on Thursday. (Express photo by Praveen Khanna)

The BJP on Thursday announced its first list of candidates for the Uttarakhand Assembly election, which is due to take place on February 14. The ruling party has announced its candidates for 59 of the 70 seats in the state assembly. Of the 59, only five are women.

In 10 of the announced seats, the BJP fielded a different candidate than the one presented in the last assembly election.

Chandrashekhar Azad, a prominent Dalit leader and leader of the Aazad Samaj (Kanshiram) party, will contest the UP Assembly election in Gorakhpur Sadar constituency, the stronghold of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

Azad’s decision came days after he said talks with the Samajwadi party led by Akhilesh Yadav for a pre-election alliance had failed.

“Advancing the ideology of Babasaheb Dr Bhimrao Ambedkar and Kanshiram sahib…SPA(K) announces Chandrashekhar Azad as the candidate of Gorakhpur Sadar,” said SPA(K) in charge of elections for Gorakhpur, Mohd Aqib.

The chief ministerial face of Aam Aadmi Party in Punjab, Bhagwant Mann, will fight the Assembly poll in Dhuri constituency of Sangrur district. Making the announcement in Chandigarh, AAP State Co-Leader and Delhi MP Raghav Chadha said Mann won the majority of votes in the Dhuri Assembly segment, which falls under the parliamentary seat. of Sangrur, in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha polls. Mann, 48, a comedian-turned-politician, is a two-time Lok Sabha MP from Sangrur.


Comments are closed.